Know the captains of Abu Dhabi T10 Season 6

  • 0

The Abu Dhabi T10 Season 6 is just around the corner and the upcoming campaign promises an enthralling experience for fans, full of big hits and edge-of-the-seat action.

The eight ADT10 franchises, including newcomers Morrisville Samp Army and New York Strikers, have already finalised their team captains, who will be expected to deliver their respective teams the coveted ADT10 2022 title.

Here’s a list of the captains of the participating teams in ADT10 Season 6.

Abu Dhabi T10 team captains:

Chris Lynn | Team Abu Dhabi

Team Abu Dhabi are one of the strong contenders to lift their maiden title ahead of season 6.

The squad boasts some big hitters like Alex Hales, Brandon King, James Vince and Chris Lynn, who was named the team captain and icon player for the upcoming edition.

Talking about Lynn’s credentials, the Australian batter finished as the leading run scorer in the 2019 edition of the Abu Dhabi T10 with 391 runs, guiding Maratha Arabians to their maiden title.

The 32-year-old has played 18 T20Is so far, scoring 291 runs at a strike rate of 131.67.

He has also played 102 BBL matches in his career, scoring 3005 runs at an average of 34.54. Moreover, he holds the record for hitting the most sixes (180) in BBL history, which indicates that Abu Dhabi is all set to witness some Chris Lynn fireworks!

Sikandar Raza | The Chennai Braves

Zimbabwean all-rounder Sikandar Raza has been named as the captain of The Chennai Braves for ADT10 2022.

He has been in terrific form with the bat in 2022, scoring 735 runs in 23 innings at a strike rate in excess of 150. Only three other players have scored more runs than him in T20Is this year.

Raza also had a terrific outing in the recently concluded T20 World Cup, where he won three Player of the Match awards.

Shakib Al Hasan | Bangla Tigers 

Shakib Al Hasan is one of the most decorated Bangladeshi players of all time. The all-rounder is especially effective in the limited over formats of the game.

The left-arm spinner currently stands second in the list of most wickets in T20 internationals, with 128 wickets from 109 matches at an average of 21.21 and a respectable economy of 6.83.

He also has the record for most four-wicket hauls in T20I history, jointly held with Rashid Khan and Umar Gul.

The Bangladesh all-rounder will be expected to spearhead his side’s bowling attack and guide them to their first Abu Dhabi T10 League title.

Kieron Pollard | New York Strikers

The big-hitting former West Indies all-rounder comes with a huge reputation in the shorter formats of the game.

Pollard has played for multiple franchises across the globe and has plied his trade in IPL, Bangladesh Premier League, Caribbean Premier League and The Hundred among others.

The 35-year-old has played more than 600 T20 games in addition to 101 T20 internationals, scoring 10,000+ runs in the process.

Furthermore, he isn’t captaining a side for the first time. In 2014, he led Barbados Tridents to their first CPL title, finishing as runners-up the following year.

Having already played for Kerala Kings and Deccan Gladiators in the previous editions of Abu Dhabi T10, he will look forward to helping New York Strikers win season 6, who will be making their debut this time out.

Nicholas Pooran | Deccan Gladiators

The Deccan Gladiators skipper and icon has made his name as one of the most destructive batters in the limited-overs format of the game.

Pooran has plenty of experience playing T20 cricket, with more than 6000 runs in 300+ encounters in the shortest format of the game.

The West Indies wicket-keeper batter is no new to Abu Dhabi T10 League, having finished as the leading run-getter (324) in the 2018 edition, powering Northern Warriors to their maiden trophy.

Dwayne Bravo | Delhi Bulls

The Delhi Bulls icon and captain needs no introduction.

Regarded as one of the best death bowlers in T20 cricket, he became the first player to bag 500 wickets in T20 cricket in 2020. He finished as the leading wicket-taker for IPL’s Chennai Super Kings twice, hunting 32 and 26 wickets in 2013 and 2015, respectively.

Moreover, he helped Quetta Gladiators win the Pakistan Super League for the first time in 2019.

With two T20 World Cups with the West Indies and more than 15 titles in franchise cricket worldwide, Bravo is one of the most decorated limited-overs cricketers of all time.

Rovman Powell | Northern Warriors

West Indies’ Rovman Powell was named as the skipper by Northern Warriors ahead of season 6. The cricketer is well-known within their departments and has plenty of T10 experience under their belt.

Talking about Rovman Powell, the hard-hitting West Indies batter comes with a reputation for hitting big sixes, which is exactly what the T10 format demands.

Interestingly, he was the Player of the Match in the final of the Abu Dhabi T10 League in 2018, smashing a 25-ball 61 for the victorious Northern Warriors.

Moeen Ali | Morrisville Samp Army

Moeen Ali will be leading the other new franchise of the tournament this season, the Morrisville Samp Army.

On the other hand, Moeen Ali will put to use his experience of 300+ T20 games which he has been a part of, scoring 6,645 runs in addition to grabbing 205 wickets. He was a part of England’s T20 World Cup triumph in Australia as well.

His all-round exploits will be pivotal moving ahead in the tournament for the Samp Army.

Fast bowlers, injuries, COVID-19 and how it affects T10 cricket feat. Mohammad Amir
Prev Post Fast bowlers, injuries, COVID-19 and how it affects T10 cricket feat. Mohammad Amir
Pacer Marchant de Lange explains his strat behind the fifer and why he likes T10
Next Post Pacer Marchant de Lange explains his strat behind the fifer and why he likes T10

Leave a Comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *