Beat This: The Ultimate XI of The Abu Dhabi T10

  • 0

The Abu Dhabi T10 concluded with the Northern Warriors clinching the title for the second time in four editions. The Warriors might have been the best team but there were several standout performers across the season that warrant a place in the Team of the Tournament.

With a blend of seasoned campaigners and emerging talents, the Team of the Tournament boasts equal firepower in all departments. Let’s see who features in the Abu Dhabi Ultimate XI.

1. Evin Lewis (Delhi Bulls)

Evin Lewis picks himself in the team of the tournament courtesy of his ability to crack big sixes – a key skill for the T10 format. The Delhi Bulls player hit 22 maximums – the second-highest this season – and scored at a whopping strike rate of 243, amassing 216 runs in eight matches. He also hit five sixes in an over against the Maratha Arabians.

2. Sohail Akhtar (Qalandars)

The rock in Qalandars’ batting lineup, Sohail Akhtar has consistently racked up big runs for his team and is the season’s highest run-scorer with 248 runs at an average of 62. The captain was unbeaten in the first three matches, including a brisk 31-ball 71* against the Deccan Gladiators. Deservedly, he was named Batsman of the Tournament.

3. Waseem Muhammad (Northern Warriors)

One of the reasons the Northern Warriors emerged as champions is the strong starts they have had, with Waseem Muhammad being at the forefront. The UAE star laid strong foundations for the innings with his consistent knocks as an opener. Muhammad also struck the joint-fastest fifty in the history of the tournament, reaching the milestone in 12 balls and took home the UAE Player of the Tournament award.

4. Tom Kohler-Kadmore (Pune Devils)

Tom Kohler-Cadmore was the lone bright star in a dismal debut season for the Pune Devils. After the first match, the Englishman got into the groove with scores 54, 61* and 48 in the next three games. He capped off the tournament with 20 from just nine to end as the highest run-getter for the Devils.

5. Nicholas Pooran (Northern Warriors) – captain, wicket-keeper

As the captain of the Warriors, Nicholas Pooran led the team masterfully to the summit by applying all the tactics he learned from playing across the globe. He also struck the highest individual score of the season with a lightning-fast 89 from 26, studded with 12 sixes and three fours. For his thoughtful captaincy and splendid batting throughout the season, Pooran was named Player of the Tournament.

6. Azam Khan (Deccan Gladiators)

Pakistan batsman Azam Khan will bolster the team’s middle-order with his brute power. The 22-year-old did have a few low scores when sent to bat up the order but was highly effective when coming in the middle. Khan smashed a remarkable half-century against the Warriors and eventually became the highest scorer for the Deccan Gladiators in this edition.

7. Jamie Overton (Team Abu Dhabi)

English pacer Jamie Overton was the season’s leading wicket-taker (12) and had a major role in Team Abu Dhabi’s turnaround after a dull start to the campaign. Despite minimal support from other bowlers, Overton was able to unsettle the opposition with his shrewd variations. He took a four-fer in the last match of the Super League stage to guide Team Abu Dhabi into the Playoffs.

Although he was listed as a bowler, Overton provided significant assistance with the bat when needed.

8. Fabian Allen (Northern Warriors)

West Indian spinner Fabian Allen played a crucial role in the Warriors’ title-winning campaign by providing key breakthroughs in the middle-overs. Fabian Allen’s left-arm orthodox spin fetched him the best bowling figures of the tournament – 4/13 and made him the second-highest wicket-taker of 2020 ADT10. Towards the death, he also made handy contributions with the blade.

9. Ali Khan (Delhi Bulls)

In the T10 format, bowlers who can stop the flow of runs and pick wickets consistently are worth their weight in gold. Ali Khan fulfilled both the duties tremendously for the Delhi Bulls being the leading wicket-taker for the team despite playing fewer games due to injury. Khan was among wickets in all the matches except one and had the best figures of three wickets for zero runs against the Pune Devils.

10. Chris Jordan (Qalandars)

The Bowler of the TournamentChris Jordan was the go-to man for the Qalandars during the death overs – a stage when batsmen aim to go all out. More often than not, the right-arm pacer was able to get wickets with his searing yorkers and stop the scoring rate too. His economy of 8.36 is among the best in this edition and with seven wickets, he ended as the joint-highest wicket-taker for the Qalandars.

11. Karim Janat (Bangla Tigers)

The Bangla Tigers did not have the best of seasons after failing to make it to the playoffs. However, Afghan speedster Karim Janat was their standout performer by providing crucial turnarounds for his team. He picked up a wicket every 10 deliveries, being a potent threat with the new ball and also at the death.


Unforgettable! 5 memorable performances of Abu Dhabi T10
Prev Post Unforgettable! 5 memorable performances of Abu Dhabi T10
Matchday 4: Openers day out as Gladiators, Team Abu Dhabi win
Next Post Matchday 4: Openers day out as Gladiators, Team Abu Dhabi win

Leave a Comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *