5 DAYS TO GO: 5 reasons to watch The Abu Dhabi T10

  • 0

In five days, the latest edition of The Abu Dhabi T10 is set to kickstart at the Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi.

The players are ready, the pitch is ready and so should be the fans. But if you’re not, we give you five reasons that will get you into the mood for some fast-paced cricket action.

1. It’s short and fast!

On par with global sporting events like football and Formula 1, cricket is now just for 90 minutes. The shortest version and fastest format of the sport is just 10-overs a side and features high-octane action. It’s easier to follow and there’s no longer the need to spend hours and hours glued to the screens to watch your favourite team win.

2. More sixes and fours

The rules are simple. Score the most number of runs in just 10 overs. That promises more sixes and a lot more fours. Last season, 332 sixes and 468 fours were smashed. That accounted for a six in almost every 10th ball. (The Indian Premier League last season had a six scored about every 20th ball). And with the big-hitting players lined up for this season of The Abu Dhabi T10, it is going to be even better.

3. Global superstars

The biggest names in the world of cricket are going to take the field at the Zayed Cricket Stadium come January 28. Chris Gayle, Shahid Afridi, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, Shoaib Malik, and the list goes on. These guys are established stars in their own right and come in with years of big-hitting experience.

4. It’s picking up

The tournament is in its fourth season and the second one in Abu Dhabi. A brainchild of billionaire businessman Nawab Shaji Ul Mulk, the tournament is growing from strength to strength with every passing year. It is the world’s only 10-over cricket tournament to be sanctioned by the International Cricket Council (ICC) and is licensed by the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB).

5. Opportunity for global talent

Like the culture of its host city, The Abu Dhabi T10 has a strong belief in diversity and inclusion, which can be seen in the country-wise representation in the tournament. Cricketers from 14 countries are part of the eight teams this season, including players from Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, UAE, USA, and West Indies.

Maratha Arabians cruise to Abu Dhabi T10 title after Chadwick Walton brilliance
Prev Post Maratha Arabians cruise to Abu Dhabi T10 title after Chadwick Walton brilliance
Delhi Bulls, the prime title-contenders
Next Post Delhi Bulls, the prime title-contenders

Leave a Comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *